On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner

This Day in the History of the
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

January 27, 1920
The Committee on the Use of the Kenan Fund reported on a policy for the use of the recently received fund. Among other things the proposal called for the professorships to be "awarded as a mark of distinction...[and] to be given on an individual and not on a departmental or school basis."
January 28, 1920
The University established the University of North Carolina Press. With Dr. Louis Round Wilson as director, the Press officially began operations in 1922 and published its first book, "The Saprolegniaceae, with Notes on Other Water Molds" by Dr. William Chambers Coker, in 1923.
February 17, 1920
Professor Howard W. Odum arrived in Chapel Hill. While at the University, he was instrumental in the establishment of the Department of Sociology, School of Public Welfare, Department of City and Regional Planning, and Institute for Research in Social Science.
February 20, 1920
Professor Howard W. Odum officially joined the faculty of the University of North Carolina.
April 14, 1920
At a meeting of the University's Executive Committee, President Harry W. Chase named three faculty members to be Kenan Professors. They were: Professor of History, J. G. de Roulhac Hamilton; Professor of the Romance Languages and Literature, William M. Dey; and Professor of Geology and Mineralogy, Collier Cobb. Professors Cobb and Dey were also the first to be named Kenan Research Professors.
April 28, 1920
Harry Woodburn Chase, who served as University president from 1919 to 1930, delivered his inaugural address, "The State University and the New South."
June 15, 1920
The Board of Trustees adopted a recommendation to name the following three faculty members as Kenan Professors: William Chambers Coker, Professor of Botany (for productive scholarship); Henry Horace Williams, Professor of Philosophy (for outstanding merit as a teacher); and Louis Round Wilson, Professor of Library Administration and Director of the Bureau of Extension (for distinguished service to the University).
July 13, 1920
William Clyde Friday was born in Raphine, Virginia. Raised in Dallas, North Carolina, Friday served as president of the Consolidated University of North Carolina and its successor University of North Carolina (multi-campus system) from 1957 to 1986.
December 25, 1920
Professor Horace Williams received a letter from Mrs. Graham Kenan (after the death of her husband, who was a long-time supporter of Professor Williams). Enclosed with the letter was a check for $26,000--twenty-five thousand to be invested and the income used for establishing the Graham Kenan Fellowship in Philosophy and one thousand dollars to meet the requirements for" 1921. The letter instructed Professor Williams himself to award the annual fellowship.