On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner

This Day in the History of the
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

January 12, 1997
Dr. Jerry Linenger lifted off on STS-81 (Space Shuttle Atlantis) for a four-month stay in the MIR Space Station. He graduated from the University with a master of public health degree in 1989 and a doctor of philosophy degree in 1990.
March 15, 1997
With win number 877, which came against the University of Colorado, men's basketball head coach Dean Smith broke former University of Kentucky head coach Adolph Rupp's record for most wins by a Division I coach.
April 10, 1997
Molly Corbett Broad was appointed as president of the University of North Carolina (multi-campus system), becoming the first woman to hold this position. She previously served in the California State University system as the executive vice chancellor and chief operating officer.
May 12, 1997
The inaugural Tar Heel Bus Tour left Chapel Hill for a five-day outing around North Carolina. The program gives new faculty members a head start on learning about the state in which they work.
July 4, 1997
Charles Kuralt, UNC Class of 1955, died in New York City. He served as a travel and news correspondent for CBS and is best remembered for his long-running television series On the Road and Sunday Morning.
September 12, 1997
Alan Greenspan, chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, spoke at the dedication ceremony for the McColl Building, the new home of the Kenan-Flagler Business School. The building was named for University alumnus Hugh L. McColl, chairman and chief executive officer of NationsBank Corporation.
October 9, 1997
Men's basketball head coach Dean Smith announced his retirement. The former all-time win leader in NCAA Division I, Smith led the Tar Heels from 1961 to 1997.
December 4, 1997
Head football coach Mack Brown left the University for the head coaching job at the University of Texas.