XML at UNC: File Management

From ArchProc
Jump to: navigation, search

Back to XML at UNC Table of Contents

File Management

Before exiting NoteTab, you MUST (this means you) remember to save and close your file in the manner described below. Following the directions will:

  • prevent having to deal with multiple versions of documents resident on different computers (various local drives) and on the shared (or network) drive;
  • allow you to use any computer in the Department whereon NoteTab has been installed;
  • assure that your file gets backed up automatically every evening.

Several facts:

  • You should work on NoteTab files ONLY when they are on your local drive (c:). You cannot parse from any other drive.
  • In order to avoid multiple copies of files floating around, you will always end your NoteTab session by saving your file to the shared drive (g:). From the shared drive, you can move the file to the c: drive on any computer you want to use. Plus, all files on the g: drive, which is on the big Library server, automatically get backed up every night (c: drives never get backed up).
  • When you save your file to the g: drive, the copy on the c: drive is automatically deleted. You must, therefore, move your file from the g: drive to the c: drive each time you begin a new session.
  • If you close NoteTab without closing your document, your doc will be there the next time you open up NoteTab. It's best to close the document (File, Close Document or Control F-4) before you close out of NoteTab.

Here's how the whole thing goes:

  • When you first create your file and as you work on it in NoteTab, you will, of course, save it periodically (please). As you do this, the file is automatically saved to your c: drive as c:\notetab\ead2002\filename.xml.
  • When you save your file at the end of a NoteTab session, double click on the Save to G drive clip. This will create g:\staff_ts\processors\filename.xml. You will be asked to enter your filename (see filename discussion under CREATE A NEW FINDING AID below). The filename will be the same as the filename you assigned when you started working on the finding aid (e.g., 04266). Click okay.
  • When you create g:\staff_ts\processors\filename.xml, the file on your c: drive that you've been working on (c:\notetab\ead2002\filename.xml) is automatically deleted. This leaves g:\staff_ts\processors\filename.xml as the one and only copy of your file and insures that it'll get backed up that evening.
  • When you want to work on your file again in a new NoteTab session, you'll need to cut (or copy) your file from g:\staff_ts\processors\filename.xml to c:\notetab\ead2002\filename.xml. If you don't know how to cut or copy a file, please ask.

It may sound complicated, but it's really not. AND it's also NOT optional.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox